By | June 3, 2019

Beyond Good & Evil 2, the long-awaited Ubisoft sequel, will not be at E3 2019 this month. In a blog post, the developer said it’s focusing on “core development milestones.” As such, Beyond Good & Evil 2 won’t have a presence at E3 2019.

Image result for Beyond Good & Evil 2 Skipping E3 2019

“This year, as we are focusing on core development milestones, we will not be attending E3 2019,” reads a line from the blog post.

More gameplay footage and other news about the game will be announced “when the time is right.” On the more immediate horizon, the next Space Monkey Report livestream event for the game will take place on June 5 at 6 PM PT. You can watch on Twitch, YouTube and Facebook.

“You continue to inspire us by sharing your ideas and creativity with the Beyond Good and Evil 2 dev team and community, and we really appreciate our Space Monkeys’ passion and dedication!”

This development follows the news from April when Ubisoft CEO Yves Guillemot suggested that changes might be afoot for Beyond Good & Evil 2. At the time, Guillemot said he recently spoke with creative director Michel Ancel about “another direction” for the game.

“I spoke with Michel last week about it to see where it was going; how we should move in one or another direction,” Guillemot said in a video that was apparently recorded in March. “We see the potential of this universe is fantastic, and Michel is really passionate [about it]. It’s going to be fantastic, I think.

In an intriguing bit of news, actor Joseph Gordon Levitt’s creative company, HitRecord, is partnering with Ubisoft for the tools so anyone can create content for Beyond Good and Evil 2.

Beyond Good & Evil 2 is a prequel to the 2003 original. It’s been in the works for a long time, but there is still no release date or announced platforms.

As for what Ubisoft will show off at E3 this year, the company has already confirmed Ghost Recon Breakpoint will be there. Ubisoft also announced it has three more triple-A games releasing by March 31, 2020. It hasn’t detailed what those are, but they’re very likely to be announced at E3, and one of them could be the rumored Watch Dogs 3. In addition to games, Ubisoft might announce a game-streaming service called Ubisoft Pass.

Ubisoft’s press conference will take place on Monday, June 10 at 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET / 9 PM BST (6 AM AET on June 11), sandwiched between Limited Run Games and Square Enix. You can check out the full press conference schedule for full details.